Jimsey’s Best Albums of the Decade

In response, or rather in the spirit of Ben’s Post/Chris’ List, I’m going to rattle off my top 10 albums of the last decade. Not because I think my list is any better. We are all adults here (mostly) and we all recognize people have different tastes in music. Its unlikely I would criticize anyone’s top ten list, unless it included Lady Gaga or something. I feel like I should also add, that if you ask me a week from today, or a three days ago, this list would probably be different. I tried to do this as quickly as possible. I’m sure there will be a few that forget, but its not like anyone will really be judging me for this…I hope.

Well anyway, in alphabetical order. Also, I’m limiting myself to one album per artist.

Arctic Monkeys – Whatever People Say I am, That’s What I’m Not. Out of the three full length Arctic Monkey’s albums (and eighty bagiillion EP/singles), this is by far my favorite. At least they lived (and continue to live) up to the hype that surrounded them when they first came onto the scene.

Beirut – The Flying Cup Club. Most critics seem to favor Beirut’s more recent work, but this wonderful gypsy ukulele whosists album is the one I fell in love with instantly.

The Black Keys – Rubber Factory. Close call between this and the more popular we-finally-made-it Attack and Release, but I’m going to give the nod to the Akron Bad-Ass-Duo’s Rubber Factory.

Interpol – Turn on the Bright Lights. NYC rocker’s debut album, always goes down smooth every time I put it on.

Man Man – Six Demon Bag. These guys are just fun. Fun on an album, lots of fun live. I can’t remember where I saw their genre described as “Circus Rock”, but I find it wonderfully appropriate.

Midlake – The Trials of Van Occupanther . Midlake always seems to have a different sound going from them between their 2 1/2 albums, ranging from Lo-Fi to folksy melodic rock. I eagerly await their next studio album next spring.

The Rural Alberta Advantage – Hometowns. What? On both of the top tens on this blog? Shenanigans!

Spoon – Girls Can Tell. Very tough call (I’ll expand later) here, but I decided to give the nod to Spoon’s first album of the decade. It also marked a point where the band seemingly found their groove. Absolutely nothing against their earlier Lo-Fi efforts, I love them death, but this album marked a turning point in Spoon’s development. Also, how many people can say they love a band before and after there was a shift in their style?

Ted Leo & The Pharmacists – Shake the Sheets. Mr. Ted Leo produced a lot of quality work, but I’m going with his most “rockin” album of the decade.

We Are Scientists – With Love and Squalor. Their breakthrough album was a blazing doozy (ps if anyone can help me find their first album, that would be neato).

So there you  have it. Sound of if you care, insult my tastes, do as you will.

Oh and getting back to my previous point about Spoon. Without a doubt, Spoon in my band of the decade. There, I said it.

Coming soon, top 10 tracks of the decade….

Tags: , , , ,

About jimsey

biography'D! visit here: http://www.urbanohio.com

7 responses to “Jimsey’s Best Albums of the Decade”

  1. Ben says :

    Man Man, man! Gwen loves them, get her all the cds. Nice list, I agree with all…except maybe Midlake, never quite turned my crank all the way.

  2. jimsey says :

    Well clearly you don’t like Midlake because you are a dolt.

  3. anonomiss says :

    doesnt anybody listen to good rock anymore?

    • jimsey says :

      Well guessing by your email, you wont be notified of this response. Either way, care to define “good”? Want to recommend “good” music to me? Do you know a “good” movie? How about some “good” Italian food? Do you have a “good” political party for me? How about a “good” religion?

      Tastes are clearly personal, but I’m always willing to give anything a listen.

  4. onlinebackup.databackup4u.com says :

    When online backup services file get prone to corruption.
    Play PodcastTim MacMahon joins Galloway and Company to discuss the state of the art servers in geographically separated data centers.
    Did you get creative and make folders and setup your own private key to safeguard your data, and MHRB then scans
    your system. Offensive lineman Juantez Hollins will serve
    a season-long suspension following a violation of the Gather Terms of
    Service, action will be taken.

Leave a Reply

