Best Albums of the Decade

by Ben

My good friend Chris just passed on his top ten list of best albums from 2000-2009.  In his words,

As the first decade of the century is coming to a close and because I’m music obsessive, I decided to put together a Best Albums of the Decade List.  It was supposed to be a top ten but, I couldn’t cut the final two so, I have some ties.  Honourable mentions are listed below as well.  Please let me know if you agree/disagree or, even better, please come up with a list of your own so I can discover other great albums of the last decade.

As I’ve told Chris, I’m a late bloomer in terms of music.  For most of my life I was lost in a musical wasteland that involved at some point thinking I kind of liked that Nelly/Tim McGraw duet song.  Feel free to judge, I deserve it.  In any case, it’s only in the past couple of years that I realized there is a lot of great music out there, and it doesn’t necessarily get played on any mainstream top 40 schlock.

So, without further ado, here is Chris’ Top Ten (plus 2) Albums of the Decade, as well as the almost winners.

The Top Ten (Plus Two) in no particular order

Green Day – Warning – 2000

The Strokes – Is This It – 2001

Stars – Set Yourself On Fire – 2004

Silversun Pickups – Carnavas – 2006

Band of Horses – Everything All the Time – 2006

Albert Hammond Jr. – Yours to Keep – 2007

Dinosaur Jr. – Beyond – 2007

Iron & Wine – The Shepherd’s Dog – 2007

Rural Alberta Advantage – Hometowns – 2008

Mother Mother – Oh My Heart – 2008

Mates of State – Re-Arrange Us – 2008

Pearl Jam – Backspacer – 2009

Honourable Mention goes to:

2000

The Hives – Veni Vidi Vicious

The Cure – Bloodflowers

Belle & Sebastian – Fold Your Hands Child…..

2001

Sparklehorse – It’s a Wonderful Life

2002

Millencollin – Home From Home

2003

The Raveonettes – Chain Gang of Love

Metric – Old World Underground

2004

Tegan & Sara – So Jealous

Hayden – Elk Lake Serenade

2005

Mates of State – Bring It Back

2006

Tom Petty – Highway Companion

Yoko Casionos

Camera Obscura – Let’s Get Out of This Country

2007

Julie Doiron – Woke Myself Up

Feist – The Reminder

Wilco – Sky Blue Sky

Tegan & Sara – The Con

Stars – In Our Bedroom After War

2008

Hayden – In Field & Town

Glasvegas

Wintersleep – Welcome to the Night Sky

Lykke Li – Youth Novels

Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever Ago

2009

Lily Allen – It’s Not Me, It’s You

Metric – Fantasies

Silversun Pickups – Swoon

Farm – Dinosaur Jr.

On the whole I am right with him on these, especially RAA and The Strokes.  I might have squeezed Hayden in there in the place of Mates of State, but that’s just my preference.

What would you have picked?

UPDATE:  Toronto.com just released their Top 10 Toronto Albums of 2009.

Tags:

3 responses to “Best Albums of the Decade”

  1. jimsey says :

    Well if there’s anything to be gained, its learning a few more artists that I didn’t know. And I forgot about my Hives album, thanks for the reminder. Now perhaps I shall do my album list….

    Also, no Rush?

  2. Lachlan says :

    I don’t notice a single Britney Spears record listed among these.
    Clearly this list has no value.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Final Top 10 Albums of the Decade « Third Rail Repository - January 6, 2010

Leave a Reply

