Run, Fatty, Run

One of the best parts of my time in Edmonton was the fact that my friend organized a bootcamp over the summer and convinced my lazy butt to go at least twice a week after work. We would do a little running in the river valley, along with some strength training. It was nice for a number of reasons: the river valley in Edmonton is gorgeous in the summer, I got less doughy, my friend got to verbally abuse more often, and, most of all, I found out that I could run a little.

All of this is going somewhere, trust me. See, the problem is, I’m getting doughy again, and the summer is coming. The ladies are always less impressed with my banana hammock if my gut hangs over the top. So, time to get exercising again.

And what better way than giving myself a goal. That’s right, I’m all signed up to run in the 2008 Scotia Bank Rat Race on June 12. This means that I have exactly one month to whip myself back into shape. See, the thing is, I don’t expect to do well, but I sure don’t want to be last, and I’d love to better than middlin’.

For those interested in supporting me, I need to collect $50 in pledges to be eligible to run. Check out my profile page if you are interested in donating. I’ll take anything: pennies, pocket lint, pity.

Click on over here to support me.

And remember, it’s not going to me, but the United Way, so even if you hate me you can still watch me suffer while supporting a good cause.

I’ll be chronicling my heart-attack inducing progress over the month and I’m hoping to get some training and race-day advice from a REAL marathon runner, my friend Mark over at A Passion For Running will be dropping in with some much needed assistance.

So, help me out. By supporting me you increase the likelihood that I’ll either die in training or die during the race…a win/win all around!

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Run, Fatty, Run”

  1. Humberto says :

    I got 10 bucks that says you’ll be able to wear that double breasted suit in no time! Though you’ll always be a wee bit chunkier than me.

  2. Ben says :

    I have permanent emotional scars from your grandmother…years of therapy!

    Hooray to Humberto, my #1 sponsor…I’ll think of you at KM 4 when I’m hacking up my left lung.

  3. jimsey says :

    what if I hate United Way, but I like ben?

  4. Ben says :

    Then I’ll double the money you donate and spend it on beer next time you’re in town.

  5. Ben says :

    Hooray to Jimsey…he donated $1 more than Humberto!

  6. jimsey says :

    That’s because I’m better friends with you than humberto.

  7. Humberto says :

    Well Jimsey, I was going to see you and raise you a dollar, but it all seems so moot now that “deep pockets” Kidy is in the game…

  8. Louie says :

    Every cloud has a silver lining,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Ran, Fatty, Ran « Ben Co. - June 16, 2008

Leave a Reply

