I hate Family Circus

Just putting it out there. Yes, I’m talking about that annoyingly saccharin, blatantly white bread, annoying-as-hell Family Circus. Even more infuriating is the 1950s values which continue to permeate the strip. Really, an update would be a huge improvement, such as Mom finding birth control pills in Dolly’s pants pocket or catch Billy trying to get Barfy high by hot-boxing in the doghouse.

Most are just bad, though.

I mean, look at the racist undertones in this one:

Is Billy the Grand Wizard?

Or this gem, belittling women who choose not to keep popping out little Jeffys:

Barefoot and pregnant

Am I totally off base here? Is there anyone out there who actually enjoys this? I’ve never read one of these comics and laughed. In fact, I think Bil Keane is just lazy…he never has to draw a full square, always just that stupid oval. And he doesn’t have to continue a story from one day to the next. Garbage.

I do know there are plenty who hate it, like here and here.

Give me Calvin and Hobbes or The Far Side any day.

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “I hate Family Circus”

  1. jimsey says :

    I like this webby: http://www.losanjealous.com/nfc/

    random Family Circus Clip, random Nietzsche Quote.

  2. Mark says :

    I’ve always been partial to Far Side. Family Circus always struck me as being a leftover from the 50’s nuclear family.

    And besides, it’s just not funny. at all. (sorry jimsey)

  3. datadrain says :

    hahaha i just wrote hate mail to the family circus website easily the worst comic i ever read

  4. UncleEdd says :

    Actually, I love the f*ck out of the Family Circus. I read it every day. I know it’s rare, but I think those kids and their antics are the cutest thing since hairbows on babydolls. I’m not saying the strip is funny or even entertaining, but the cuteness of those kids reminds me, in some ways, of myself before I became the grizzled old bastid I am now.

    • Simpp says :

      you grizzled old bastiddd

      they is not cute they are just stupid like you

      and i hate baby dolls and you

  5. A says :

    The reason I hate the family circus is this… The kids in it never get any smarter… They are all just stupid and they pride themselves on being stupid..And it seems the parents are all focused on letting them stay stupid.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. I love Family Circuss « Ben Co. - April 23, 2008

Leave a Reply

