2008: International Year of the Potato

Ben

I totally dropped the ball on this one. Here we are, 3 months into 2008, and I’m just now finding out that it has been the U.N. International Year of the Potato this whole time.

So, to celebrate, I give you a menagerie of Solanum tuberosum related facts and images. Pommes frites!

– The potato is the second most consumed food in the U.S., behind milk.

– There’s a potato research centre in Fredricton, N.B.

– The name “potato” is derived from the Indian word “batata.”

– A potato is around 80% and 20% solid – much like me.

– Mr. Potato Head was invented by George Lerner in 1952.

This guy made a really big potato gun. And his business is for sale.

In retrospect, this isn’t nearly as amusing as I thought it was. I’m just going to stop. I’m all hopped up on cold medicine, my head weighs a ton (kinda like Mr. Potato Head) and I’d rather go hang out with my condo mate. Bye!

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “2008: International Year of the Potato”

  1. jimsey says :

    anything with mr. potato head is a great post.

  2. Mark says :

    The UN says this is the year of the potato? I have no idea where to go with that.

Leave a Reply

