Get off your butt – City of Edmonton municipal elections – October 15

This is a Ben Co. public service announcement:

ATTENTION ALL EDMONTON RESIDENTS!

As some of you know (and a painful amount of you don’t), there is an upcoming municipal election in Edmonton on October 15th.  Being only a lowly permanent resident I am unable to vote (sniff!), but that doesn’t mean I can’t get you all to!

What follows is a brief voting primer for Edmontonians.

Where do I vote?

You can find out where your polling station is by using the City of Edmonton’s online search tool.

If you are having trouble finding your polling station contact

Election & Census Services
16304 – 114 Avenue
Edmonton, AB  T5M 3R8
Phone: (780) 496-8008
Fax: (780) 498-7058
email:   Elections@edmonton.ca

What should I bring?

You must present identification at the polls.  The ID, such as an Alberta Driver’s Licence, Alberta Health Care Card or a Canadian passport, must confirm your age and identity. Click here for more ID options.

Also, don’t forget your civic pride. Or pants.

Who should I vote for?

While I certainly can’t tell you how to vote, I can show you all the options.

See the list of all candidates who are running here.

Want to contact a candidate? Daveberta.ca has pulled together a great list of candidates with their contact information here.

What ward am I in?

Check out a clickable ward map here to locate which ward you are in.

Oh, and in case you were as confused as I was, public school trustees are listed by wards according to letter, not by ward number like municipal candidates.  This map should explain it for you.

But I live in Sherwood Park or St. Albert, what do I do?

I’m sorry to hear that.  Despite your living in Sherwood Park or St. Albert I’ll still help you out, though.  Here’s a link to Strathcona County’s election information and St. Albert’s.

 But Ben, who would would you vote for if you could?

Ah, I’m glad you asked.  Here’s who I’m backing: Mandel for Mayor  Ben Hendersen

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Get off your butt – City of Edmonton municipal elections – October 15”

  1. jimsey says :

    I’m Jimsey, and I don’t approve of this message.

Leave a Reply

