Ride the City – Toronto Edition

by Ben

Upon hearing news that Google maps now had biking directions,  I was elated.  Upon hearing it was only in major U.S. cities, I was deflated.  And then, lo and behold, I was elated again upon learning that Ride the City just released bike directions for Toronto.

After playing around with it a little my overall impressions are positive.  Here’s the suggested “safe route” given for my work commute:

Can’t say I disagree.  Choosing the most direct route actually takes me a little further than I need to go, but there isn’t really a way for the app to read my mind.  Yet.  The ability to choose between safety levels is nice, and will also be useful when I feel like a scenic weekend ride rather than a hurdy-gurdy pedal to work ride.

The map layout is nice and the overall map has an appealing feel to it.  But one of the coolest bits to the map, and something I haven’t seen yet, is the addition of underground walkways (check out Bay and Bloor).  It appears this is the result of the base mapping program, OpenStreetMap.org, which is pretty cool in it’s own right.  Maybe I can finally figure out Toronto’s PATH system.

So, this will do for now.  Once Google gets around to Canada I can compare then.

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Ride the City – Toronto Edition”

  1. jimsey says :

    I noticed when looking at a map of toronto on gmaps, they have the check box for the “bicycle” map layer, weird.

    I tried Chicago’s this weekend. Worked good, except for the part where I took some bike lanes past the United Center when a Blackhawks games was letting out. Apparently they don’t have bike lanes in whatever suburb everyone drove in from.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 715 other followers

